Gearing up for BRP 2015: Windmill Boffins

With only one week till the dig starts the packing has begun! Today’s staff bios come from Media Coordinator Joe Tong and Field School Coordinator Cole Kelly. Still to come this week will be the Post excavation staff, Bradford Kaims South, and hopefully a word from our Directors about the upcoming season.


Joe Tong

252019_931342760093_7987448_n

“My involvement with the BRP began in 2011 when I attended as a student volunteer with the media department. Since then, I’ve been a frequent returnee (and visitor when not working with the project) and managed media departments on other archaeological projects. I graduated from the University of Chester in 2012 and managed to secure myself a position with Archaeological Research Services who I worked for until last Friday and I’m due to start a new career in teaching next September. In my personal life I spend my time talking about Tom Gardner, writing about Tom Gardner or thinking about Tom Gardner. I write short stories, shred waves on my surfboard which is totally radical, play music, and watch others (who call themselves ‘professionals’) play a stupid game called DotA2 because I’m rubbish at it.

Being involved with the media at Bamburgh is really quite exciting. You experience the archaeology differently as a passive observer of the work and really get to know the archaeologists well through interviews and watching them work. It can be rewarding to create videos and see them uploaded to the social media and have people interact with both your work and the work of the project. It also serves as a vital strand to the recording of the archaeology, serving to augment the traditional written records by having the process of the interpretation documented through video. I’m particularly looking forward to seeing what we capture this season and I’m hoping for gold/wooden tools/Oswald’s gilded arm.”


Joe has recently published an article in issue 39 of Internet Archaeology. Check it out here: Vlog to Death: Project Eliseg’s Video-Blogging.


Cole Kelly

DSC04199

“I recently graduated from San Francisco State University with a degree in Anthropology focussed in Archaeology. I have been accepted for an MA in Archaeology of the Ancient Near East at Durham University starting October 2015. I joined the BRP as a student in the summer of 2013 just to ‘get my feet wet’ and ended up staying for most of the season. I spent last season trying out Photogrammetry in the trenches as well as running the BRP blog and other forms of social media

This year I have been the point of contact for incoming students. I will spend this summer working out a standardization for Photogrammetry in trenches, assisting with outreach and social media, as well as beginning to organize the past 15 years of BRP research into a database.

When not at Bamburgh or the Kaims I like to play the ukulele, paint, make endless Lord of the Rings references, and take apart old broken pocket watches with no real intention of putting them pack together again.

I’m looking forward to meeting all of the students I’ve been talking with these past few months, seeing all my friends, and relaxing at our beautiful campsite.”


Student Placements still available for the season! We start on Monday the 8th of June, so stay tuned for more blog entries, tweets and video footage of the intriguing finds at Bamburgh Castle and the Bradford Kaims! We can’t wait to get started!

Leave a Reply

