Gearing up for BRP 2015: Trench 1 Staff

Today we introduce you to the awesome staff of Trench 1 at Bamburgh Castle! Returning Supervisor Constance will be assisted by former student Sam Serrano Ferraro. We can’t wait to see what Trench 1 turns up this summer!


Constance Durgeat

DSC03718

From our fun trip down to Dunstanburgh Castle

“I started going to the Bamburgh Research Project as a French student, in order to discover a bit more about English field archaeology…and never really left since! This year will be my fifth year within the project, and my second year as Trench One supervisor. I have a Master’s degree in Urban & Buildings Archaeology from the Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, and another one in Medieval Archaeology from the University of York. Outside the season, I am a commercial archaeologist and have been working for different companies around Yorkshire.
I am really looking forward to this season. It would be nice to have a better understanding of the relationship between our four buildings, especially now that we’ve uncovered the ‘old’ part of Trench One, and have a closer look at our different floor surfaces and miscellaneous pits/post-holes. We might also just be able to work our way to a couple of prehistoric features, which would show the continuous occupation of the site.
I am also excited to spend a couple of months with great people!”

Sam Serrano Ferraro
Screen Shot 2015-05-22 at 12.53.26 PM

Sam on the left with Post-ex supervisor Jeff and the ever amazing Laurel 

“I am half Italian – half Ecuadorian, though I live in Scotland. I have been with BRP one season, BRP 2013. When I am not at Bamburgh or the Kaims I am either at Edinburgh University studying archaeology, relaxing with friends or trying to become the next Indiana Jones, without the “destroy everything I find” attitude! This season I am looking forward to seeing the same people I had so much fun with two years ago! And obviously getting down and dirty…by that I mean digging in the trenches!”

This year’s digging season will start on Monday the 8th of June, so stay tuned for more blog entries, tweets and video footage of the intriguing finds at Bamburgh Castle and the Bradford Kaims! We can’t wait to get started!

4 thoughts on “Gearing up for BRP 2015: Trench 1 Staff

  1. Hi!
    If you find out anything about the Oliver family who had connections with the castle- administrators?? Cuthbert Oliver, in particular, I’d be interested as they are my ancestors. I think his daughter Alice lived at Newsteads, not far from the castle and she married William Dixon. I am talking about the very late 1690s into the 1720s.
    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

