Gearing up for BRP 2015: Trench 3 Staff

In today’s blog we have decided to reintroduce you to the staff of Trench 3, as a couple of lovely new faces have appeared! Unfortunately, last year’s Trench 3 Supervisor Stephanie Chapman wasn’t able to return this season because of the beautiful baby girl she had last winter. Luckily, 2-year T3 Assistant Supervisor Anne Hartog was more than keen to take up the Supervisor mantle! She will be assisted by long-term Bamburgh students Harry Francis and Isabelle Ryan.


Anne Hartog

Screen Shot 2015-05-15 at 2.11.16 PM

Anne may be a bit too attached to her clipboard…

“I have been a part of the Bamburgh Research Project since the summer of 2011, and have filled the position of T3 Assistant Supervisor in 2013 and 2014. I graduated from Leiden University in the Netherlands in 2014 with a Masters Degree in Historical Archaeology of Northwestern Europe and Museology. Outside of the season, I’m keeping my eye out for archaeological/museological work, which is proving very hard to come across! I did recently start volunteering at a local geological and historical museum as the resident archaeologist, so I’m very happy to still be working with archaeology and artefacts on a weekly basis.

As for my trench hopes and dreams, I would like it very much if we could get the north end down to Brian Hope Taylor’s level and continue from there. We are also still hoping to finally figure out all four walls of the mysterious building that covers a large part of the trench. Of course, the southern part of the trench will hopefully also get a good amount of attention and if all goes well we will try to bring it together, as one phase, with the rest of the trench, before the end of the season. Lastly, I’d like to continue cleaning up the Trench sides, as we did with the South East section last season.

Of course, like most previous seasons, we’ve always been down for big surprises, and I’m sure this year will be no different! But it’s the surprises that make archaeology so interesting!”

Harry Francis

DSC08768

Harry trying not to laugh because I made him freeze for this photo

“This will be my fourth year with the BRP! I have previously spent the last three years working as a student with the project but am returning as an assistant supervisor in Trench 3 this year. I am currently in my second year of doing a BSc in Archaeology at the University of Leicester and plan on continuing in archaeology after leaving.

I am looking forward to another great season working again on a great site, with an equally amazing group of people. This will be a great summer spent digging before I go to study at the University of Bologna, Italy for a year.”

Isabelle Ryan

DSC07704

Isabelle likes to dive right in. She is also a master of trench planking

“I’m from Baltimore, MD and am currently studying Archaeology and History at Washington College in Maryland. This will be my third season with the BRP (first season as staff). Outside of the BRP and studying, I cox for the Washington College men’s varsity crew rowing team.

This season I’m looking forward to uncovering the secrets of the Northwest Corner!”


This year’s digging season will start on Monday the 8th of June, so stay tuned for more blog entries, tweets and video footage of the intriguing finds at Bamburgh Castle and the Bradford Kaims! We can’t wait to get started!

Leave a Reply

