Staff Profile

Today we hear from Dan, the Trench 3 assistant supervisor.

Dan been 'Dan'

Name: Dan “The Moose” Bateman

Position: Trench 3 Assistant Supervisor

Responsibilities at the project: Along with general entertainment, moose related antics and spinning a few wild tales, I am responsible with helping Jo (female) out in Trench 3. I am also involved in teaching students about practical archaeology in the field as well as theoretical (if they really really want to get into that sort of thing). Particularly, I have had great involvement in the Hammerscale Sampling process and recording, which the project is using to establish whether or not metal working has been present in Trench 3.

How did you get involved with the project?: Magic…Not really…although it feels like that. As part of my degree at Newcastle University (Ancient History and Archaeology) I was required to perform at least 4 weeks of excavation, for which I came to Bamburgh 2 years ago and was invited back for 4 weeks the following year. During those 4 weeks a job was offered and I took it, as Assistant Supervisor in both Trench 1 and Trench 3 for the remaining 4 weeks. Now I am back with a vengeance…

What do you do out of season?: I work at a hardware store where I wear a lot of orange…(sigh)…in apron form…(heavy sigh). Up until this year I have been at university, as I mentioned before, and now I am entering the real world (sheds a silent tear). I hope to become an archaeologist as soon as jobs are available, become the next Sir Mortimer Wheeler and live out my days as a slick-back haired, moustached archaeological fox!

Hopes for the rest of the season: More Moosing! Sort out my Hammerscale samples so they can be sent away for testing (for free if possible). More gold would be lovely…

Anything you would like to add?: I have had/having such an amazing time, met and worked/working with some fantastic characters. I am so grateful for the experience, I can only hope that those who come here in future years will benefit from it just as much, if not more, than what I have for the past 3 years.

One thought on “Staff Profile

Leave a Reply

