Staff Profile

Today we get to know one of our super assistant supervisors.

A very happy Mr Stevens

Name: Alex Stevens

Position: Assistant Supervisor for T1

Responsibilities at the project: I spend most of my time teaching students in T1 (excavation techniques, planning, surveying etc), and the day-to-day running of the trench.

How did you get involved with the project? I started as a student in 2007, to make sure I enjoyed archaeology before committing to a degree. I came back in 2008, and again in 2010, before getting made an assistant supervisor this year.

What do you do out of season? I’m going into my third year of a MSci in Archaeological and Anthropological Science at Bristol. When I’m not studying (which is most of the time) I read, play the guitar and watch TV.

Hopes for the rest of the season: To fully define the returning walls of the two buildings in trench 1, and get to grips with the paperwork of archaeology.

Anything you would like to add? Trench 1 rules. That is all.

Thanks to Alex for taking the time to answer my questions. I would, however, discount the last remark as pure fantasy. Trench 3 all the way! Next time we hear from Gerry Twomey.

Leave a Reply

